My birthday is in December and to my delight one of my good friends, Andrea, made me amazing homemade vegan peanut butter cups and mailed them from NY to CA. After opening my package, I was amazed to sink my teeth into these delightful desserts and had to share them with my friends. After I devoured my treats, I soon craved more. I wrote Andrea asking for the recipe and to my delight, she quickly emailed the recipe. As it turns out, she got the recipe from Alicia Silverstone, who just wrote the vegan book the Kind Diet. Since, she sent me the recipe, I had to try it myself and pass it on to my lovely blog readers. Trust us, this easy and fun recipe is worth the two-hour wait! They also make a nice present, especially with Valentine’s Day fast approaching.

Vegan Peanut Butter Cups 

Prep Time: 15-20 minutes    Cool Time: 2.5 hours

1 Cup Vegan Chocolate Chips

3/4 Cup Organic Crunch Peanut Butter

3/4 Cup Graham Cracker Crumbles

1/2 Cup Organic Earth Balance

1/4 Cup Organic Evaporated Cane Juice or other sweetener

1/4 Cup Soy Milk

1/4 Cup Organic Chopped Peanuts

In a small muffin tin, line the muffin circles with preferably recycled or eco-friendly muffin liners and set aside. Melt the Earth Balance in a small saucepan and stir in the peanut butter, graham crackers, and evaporated cane juice. Remove from heat and with a spoon, put the peanut butter mixture into the liners at about halfway or 2 tbsp per cup. In another sauce pan, heat up the soy milk and add in the chocolate chips. Stir until the chocolate is melted. Pour the chocolate over the peanut butter in the lining until they are filled. Sprinkle the peanuts on top. Place the tray in the fridge for 2.5 hours and serve or wrap as a gift!

